The University of Richmond traces its roots to 1830, when Virginia Baptists opened a seminary for men. The seminary soon added a program for literary studies and was incorporated as Richmond College in 1840.
In 1914, the college moved from downtown Richmond to a 350-acre tract of land west of the city, the site of an abandoned amusement park. In conjunction with the move, the university opened Westhampton College for women.
That was just the beginning for the University of Richmond as it is known today. Explore this site to learn more about Richmond's history and traditions, and the people who helped to shape them.